Skip to main content

EPS Special Award

The EPS Special Award shall be awarded to those who made outstanding contributions to the journal Earth, Planets and Space by the editor-in-chief and the presidents of the following five supporting societies: 

  • Society of Geomagnetism and Earth, Planetary and Space Sciences
  • The Seismological Society of Japan
  • The Volcanological Society of Japan
  • The Geodetic Society of Japan
  • The Japanese Society for Planetary Sciences

The “EPS Special Award Committee”, which is composed of the members of the EPS editorial board, shall nominate the award. This award is not annual.


1st EPS Special Award goes to the authors of the following paper.
International Geomagnetic Reference Field: the 12th generation 
Erwan Thébault, Christopher C Finlay, Ciarán D Beggan, Patrick Alken, Julien Aubert, Olivier Barrois, Francois Bertrand, Tatiana Bondar, Axel Boness, Laura Brocco, Elisabeth Canet, Aude Chambodut, Arnaud Chulliat, Pierdavide Coïsson, François Civet, Aimin Du, Alexandre Fournier, Isabelle Fratter, Nicolas Gillet, Brian Hamilton, Mohamed Hamoudi, Gauthier Hulot, Thomas Jager, Monika Korte, Weijia Kuang, Xavier Lalanne, Benoit Langlais, Jean-Michel Léger, Vincent Lesur, Frank J Lowes, Susan Macmillan, Mioara Mandea, Chandrasekharan Manoj, Stefan Maus, Nils Olsen, Valeriy Petrov, Victoria Ridley, Martin Rother, Terence J Sabaka, Diana Saturnino, Reyko Schachtschneider, Olivier Sirol, Andrew Tangborn, Alan Thomson, Lars Tøffner-Clausen, Pierre Vigneron, Ingo Wardinski  and Tatiana Zvereva
Earth, Planets and Space 2015 67:79 

This paper presents the 12th generation of the International Geomagnetic Reference Field (IGRF) model which gives the standard geomagnetic model for the year 1900.0-2015.0 with secular variations to 2020.0.  The model was a product from all the efforts in the geomagnetism community including geomagnetic observatories, magnetic field satellite missions, and IAGA V-MOD working group. It has been widely used in studies of the Earth's deep interior, crust, ionosphere, and magnetosphere. The paper is authored by 48 researchers and is now one of the most well-cited papers in Earth, Planets and Space with more than 332 citations (as of June 2019). Its contribution to the academic and relevant research is outstanding. Thus, we have decided that the first EPS Special Award should go to this paper.